Is there paperwork to take a Blog-cation?

1 Mar

Because… I don’t need anymore paperwork to fill out right now, thankyouverymuch. 

I’m getting ready to fill out 3-4 pages per student of paperwork for my preschoolers.  At my last calculation 3 x 40= 120 and 4 x 40 = 160.  120-160 pages of paperwork.  I’ll know exactly how many pages I’ll need to fill out as soon as I receive that last form I’m waiting for from the school district, and I’m pretty sure it will be a 2 page form, not a 1 page form.

AND…

I need to sort through all of my assessments and observations to fill out those 160 pages of paperwork.  Have I ever mentioned how disorganized I tend to be?  Thankfully, everything is in one spot and actually in some form of organization, but I really need to figure out how I’m going to sift through all of the information to figure out EXACTLY what I need or want to know, and what the readers of the paperwork need or want to know about my preschoolers. 

I’m using a new approach of assessment with preschoolers, which is  a combination of The Work Sampling System, Early Childhood Indicators of Progress, and Creative Curriculum for Preschoolers.  The assessments are supposed to be informal, more from observations and work sampling than from direct testing.  It seems like I’m stumbling around in the dark.  I like the idea of this form of assessment, but it is a new way of doing things for our school and for me.

So right now I feel a bit disorganized.  I need to have it all together by March 16th, when I start conferences with the parents of my students.

I’m sure I will have it all together by then, and the 160 pages will be a distant memory.  Conferences will go well and all parents will attend at their scheduled time.  Do I sound delusional?  It just may be what gets me through the next two weeks.

Needless to say I will be occupied for awhile.  So I guess that means I am officially on a blog-cation.

I’ll be back when the paperwork storm clears.

Mrs. V

7 Responses to “Is there paperwork to take a Blog-cation?”

  1. joanharvest March 2, 2009 at 12:41 am #

    I remember when my kids went to pre-school. As long as they didn’t bite anyone they got a thumbs up. I guess things have changed. I hate paperwork. Good luck with it and see you soon.

  2. Just a Mom March 2, 2009 at 11:19 am #

    Good luck with all your paper work as well as getting all the parents to the conferences on time!

  3. Julie March 2, 2009 at 12:22 pm #

    Now THAT sounds like a lot of work!!!… I’m glad I only have 4 students. *lol*

  4. RC March 2, 2009 at 12:39 pm #

    No paperwork. You just do it. Have a fun time and just know that I got Little Dude’s first-ever assessment. Very cool!

  5. writer chick March 4, 2009 at 12:50 pm #

    Nope, no paperwork involved at all. And too, if you need pinch hitters for posts, you can ask any of your blogger buddies to do so. Or just let us know when you’re back. Good luck with all those pages. Yikes!
    Annie

  6. kiri8 March 4, 2009 at 2:51 pm #

    Ugh, I hate those “informal” observations, where you’re supposed to glean tons of info on each child just by watching them. MAYBE each child will show you what you want to know, and maybe not. It ends up being a crock, and the teachers have to do fairly direct assessment in the end, just to fill out all the paperwork on the child. I know what you’re going through, and I am very sympathetic.

  7. debra March 6, 2009 at 7:10 am #

    Just checking in to say I hope things are going well! Good luck!

Leave a Reply

