The song that is stuck in my head

23 Mar

Oh, the perils of being a preschool teacher…

There are certain songs that I use with certain themes that just play on and on in my head, long after the day is done and I have gone home.  These songs are usually catchy tunes that my students love and want to hear over and over again.  Sometimes I even hear these songs in my sleep. 

Are you beginning to doubt my sanity?

Wait, don’t answer that.

I was introduced to a song this year by the parent of one of my students, and I have chosen to use it for our dinosaur theme this week. 

I may regret this for a long, long time.  My jukebox of a brain will NOT let this one go.

So I thought I’d share it with you.  Aren’t I nice?

We Are The Dinosaurs by Laurie Berkner 

Listen at your own risk.

Oh, press play for goodness sake.  Don’t be a wimp.

Aren’t you glad I shared?

Mrs. V

13 Responses to “The song that is stuck in my head”

  1. RC March 23, 2009 at 9:54 pm #

    I’m upset you didn’t use Sandra Boynton’s dinosaur resources. **sob**

    “Dinosaur, dinosaur, so lonely and shy… Dinosaur, dinosaur, ready to cry…”

    “Dinosaur happy, dinosaur sad, dinosaur good, dinosaur bad…” (Or did you want the version your charming sisters created?)

  2. Just a Mom March 24, 2009 at 8:23 am #

    Ahh, the good old days of Noggin! I could always rely on good old Laurie to keep my head filled with an annoying song for days on end! Now I must rely on the Disney Channel! 🙂

    Thanks for sharing, no really. I suppose next time you get a cold you are going to share that too! 🙂

  3. Mamie March 24, 2009 at 8:36 am #

    When I was teaching K-2 (all ELL students) I had a book called “Saturday Night at the Dinosaur Stomp” by Carol Diggory Shields. I think I got it from Scholastic as a book-and-tape set. The kids LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the song on the tape – every class I introduced it to just adored it, and had to hear it (and sing it, and dance to it) endlessly. It made for a great English language development lesson! I think preschoolers would also get a kick out of it.

  4. jen March 24, 2009 at 11:14 am #

    You.Are.Evil. 😉 My boys are finally past the Laurie Berkner stage and I FINALLY have that song out of my head. Not today though!!!! Gah! 😉

  5. Daisy March 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm #

    I just can’t finish it.. nope. I say.. run away.. run away far far away (just from the song, not from your blog dear Mrs. V)

    And yes, I’m loving the kids on the street playing.. except on my street, everyone still has their hats and mitts on and riding their bikes like it’s spring (but it’s way too cold to be spring). Ha ha.

    Daisy

  6. Talula March 24, 2009 at 4:16 pm #

    LOOVED IT! It’s has been too long since I was caught singing or hummng a little Pre-K ditty. thanks – you made my day! Talula

  7. michaelm March 24, 2009 at 7:36 pm #

    Oh, Mrs. V . . . .
    you have got to funk these children up, girl!

    End of story.
    :mrgreen:
    ~m

  8. Little old me March 25, 2009 at 12:40 am #

    ooooh nice header

  9. Nancy March 27, 2009 at 1:01 pm #

    Well, now I am listening to my four year old sing it over and over again. She came running from the bathroom and yelled “hey that is from my preschool” while I was playing it on the computer. Thanks Aunt Angie!

  10. G-Ma March 28, 2009 at 5:45 pm #

    Well, I just loved this. Since my kids were never in day care or even pre-school, I’m learning all kinds of things from my grandson who is. I’ll have to play this and see if he can sing along. Sometimes he really surprises me with all the songs he knows.

  11. kiri8 March 29, 2009 at 2:25 pm #

    Oh yeah, I’ve had that happen. When we’re done learning the alphabet, I change our good morning song to “I Think You’re Wonderful” by Red Grammer and then I can never fall asleep at night because it’s stuck in my head. My new assistant teacher says it’s happening to her all the time with our math songs….

  12. Julie April 6, 2009 at 6:20 am #

    That was a really cute song! My boys would have loved it when they were younger. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Spring Break « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - April 1, 2009

    […] Routine, I need my routine.  I need my preschoolers.  And why is that dinosaur song still stuck in my head. […]

Leave a Reply

