Monday Merriment

13 Apr

 

Classroom Conversation:

Teacher: “Please put on your jacket, so we can go on our field trip.”

Child: “I don’t have a jacket.”

Teacher (observing child’s short sleeves on this chilly spring day): “Really?  Let’s go check your cubby.”

Child: “Teacher, I don’t have a jacket, I have a coat.

Teacher subdues the urge to roll her eyes or bang her head, and chooses to giggle an internal giggle. 

I honestly did not see that one coming. 

Fire Station Field Trip:

 

I love the smell of testosterone in the morning.  Oh, did I just type that?  Oops…  I also meant to add “and in the afternoon.”  There that’s better.

The firefighters really were quite handsome very kind and helpful with my two groups of students.  The children loved visiting the station and being able to see where these community helpers eat, sleep, slide down fire poles and of course do their important work.  My students were allowed to touch things, climb through the firetrucks and see the firefighters in their turn-out gear.  Way cool.  Especially since these gorgeous generous men allowed me to ogle them bring both groups of my students to visit them today!  This means they gave the tour twice.  They are more than community helpers, they are community heroes.   They have my heartfelt thanks.

Jelly Bean High:

 

My lovely younger sister purchased jelly beans for me as a little Easter gift. These aren’t just any jelly beans but a product called Green Beans. I haven’t been able to have jelly beans for years, since I have a strong physical reaction to food dyes (Red #40, Yellows #5 and #6). Since I don’t particularly like having hives or swollen lips and eyes, I made the decision to go  food coloring free many years ago. I’ve been slowly discovering foods made with natural colors that I can eat. These “Green Beans” are the best. Oh.my.goodness. Fruit-flavored chewy heaven that is definitely worth the negative effects of a sugar high, without the unwanted excitement of an allergic reaction. 

I really enjoyed my Monday.

Mrs. V

7 Responses to “Monday Merriment”

  1. RC April 13, 2009 at 9:20 pm #

    You are very welcome. Now about the fire station, no female firefighters? What the hey… I think I need to be a guest speaker (If I ever get well enough to respond to calls again – because passing out due to an asthma attack? Kind-of a bad scenario…) at your school.

  2. jen April 13, 2009 at 9:34 pm #

    OOH! I’ll have to find those jellybeans! 🙂 I’m trying to get colorings out of the house!

  3. Just a Mom April 14, 2009 at 11:06 am #

    It sounds like you, I mean the children, had a great time on your field trip! My kids like to take cookies over to our local fire station every now and then. They love it, or at least they lie to us and tell us they love it!
    Again, the little boy with the COAT is so lucky I am not a teacher! 🙂

  4. Mr Geek April 15, 2009 at 5:14 am #

    I feel dirty just reading your objectification of these brave men. We men are not just beautiful lumps of ripling muscle, we have brains, interests, needs!

    With attitudes like this, these men will be stuck in the spiral that is saving lives – posing for calanders and rescuing kittens from trees.

    Shame on you!

  5. Julie April 15, 2009 at 8:38 am #

    Is it the fireman code that you have to be good looking before you can be a fireman? … Because they ALWAYS are! *lol*

  6. Daisy April 21, 2009 at 2:54 pm #

    Firemen.. YUM. I’d encourage you to drool, I mean, write more about them in future so that I can live vicariously through you.

    Mr. Geek’s comment – LOL!!!

    Daisy

  7. michaelm April 27, 2009 at 8:19 pm #

    So glad Sis got you some yummy jellybeans.
    That’s love, my dear.
    The bit about the kids at the Fire Station just killed me.
    Especially your reaction to those hunky FireFighters.
    No doubt a few were looking at you too, my dear.
    Wonderful post.
    ~m

Leave a Reply

