A Very Important Phone Call

15 Apr

 

So, we had our field trip to the fire station on Monday, and today we continued to talk about fire safety.  The main lesson was learning about 9-1-1, and when this number should or should not be called.  We also talked about “Stay Low and Go”  and “Stop, Drop and Roll.” 

The children were very clever and could tell me what was an emergency (fire, car accident, etc…) and what was not an emergency (skinned knee, lost toy, etc…).  They told me that 9-1-1 was not a game, and should not be dialed just for fun.  Hooray, they’re learning! 

And then…  (You knew this was coming, didn’t you?)

Mr. Inquisitive (as I like to call him) decided to inform my assistant teacher that he was going to call 9-1-1 to let the firefighters know that he knew what 9-1-1 should be used for.  Oh, the irony of that idea.  **sigh**  Yes, we told his mother about his comment, and yes, we talked once again how 9-1-1 was for EMERGENCIES ONLY, and what exactly an emergency wasWe also assured him that a letter to the firefighters might be a better idea.

I often wonder what goes on in their little heads while they are at school.  I’m relieved that Mr. Inquisitive shared his thoughts with us today.

Mrs. V

6 Responses to “A Very Important Phone Call”

  1. Julie April 15, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    Kids are so cute! … When Jared was that age he wanted to be a fireman when he grew up (it’s changed at least a dozen times since then). Well, one day he told me, “I know what my phone number is going to be when I grow up.” Curious as to what it would be, I asked him.

    His reply?

    911

    *lol*

  2. jen April 15, 2009 at 8:31 pm #

    Oh, four year old A went back in time and joined you on your field trip? LOL

  3. RC April 15, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    I giggle, only because I always volunteer to teach fire safety. We get the same questions – although inevitably, my questions are based around the comment, “but you’re a girl…”

  4. michaelm April 27, 2009 at 8:15 pm #

    I’ve said this before but your kids so are lucky.
    When they made the MrsV ‘teacher’ mold the must have dropped it and it broke.
    God Bless you, my dear.
    Keep teaching those darlings!
    We need more teachers like you . . .
    ~m

  5. Daisy May 1, 2009 at 7:05 pm #

    Knock Knock Mrs. V.

    it’s an emergency… it’s May 1st and you haven’t posted in way too long.

    Hope all is well – I’m anxiously waiting.. 🙂

    Daisy

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Playing Hide and Seek « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - May 2, 2009

    […] Mr. Inquisitive has a future as the next Steve Martin. His facial expressions are hysterical, especially if I dare to serve fruit or carrot sticks for snack. You’d think I was trying to poison the poor kid. He actually dropped to floor like he was fainting when he saw he was my helper for the day. The kid cracks me up. […]

Leave a Reply

