Playing Hide and Seek

2 May

 

I’ve been hiding lately.  Not on purpose, mind you, life just has a way of sneaking up on me and hiding the time I need to find to spend on the computer to write a quality post.  So maybe I’ve been seeking more than hiding.  Although, you could say I’ve been hiding out on Facebook and maybe you can find me there if you do a little seeking.  Ready, set, go…

What have I been up to lately?  Oh, you are so sweet to ask!

I’m in my final 3 weeks of teaching the 2008-2009 school year.  I adore these 40 children.  Oh, they’ve had their moments, and some are more memorable than others.  We’re at that point in the year when they are very comfortable at school, enjoy their time there, enjoy their friends and even enjoy me.  I receive more hugs and homemade presents this time of year, and the adoration is genuine.  I joke and say I have them trained so well now, that it is hard to let them go.  Really, it is hard to come to the end of the school year, because I love who these little ones have become and what they have learned being in my classroom.  However, I think I will miss these two groups more than I have missed others.  There is something special about these students and I can’t figure out what it is.

And in Other News:

Larry Boy has some arch enemies.  I like to think of  them as Buzz and Woody.  Buzz and Woody don’t like it when Larry Boy doesn’t share, especially when it involves the tool box.  Larry Boy brought the tool  box to group time, and set it behind him, which is a group time rule.  Larry Boy was patiently waiting to be dismissed at the end of group time, when all of a sudden, Woody, who had been dismissed before Larry Boy, grabbed the tool box in one smooth swipe and ran off with it.  Kudos to Larry Boy for not tackling/hitting Woody, or even throwing a fit.  Woody’s behavior was so out of character that it stunned the adults in the room, and I think it completely stunned Larry Boy.  I made Woody give it back to Larry Boy and Larry Boy agreed to share the tool box.   Larry Boy has come  a long way!

Mr. Inquisitive has a future as the next Steve Martin. His facial expressions are hysterical, especially if I dare to serve fruit or carrot sticks for snack. You’d think I was trying to poison the poor kid. He actually dropped to floor like he was fainting when he saw he was my helper for the day. The kid cracks me up.

The Thinker really has become “The Talker.” This child now speaks freely with the teachers and with the other children. Hooray! The Talker also has become the “Take it Apart and See How it Works Kid.” If something has been dismantled in the classroom, we usually can figure out who did it. The Talker is really quite stealth with these self-appointed duties.

The Little Princess who once asked me if I had killed the dinosaurs, can tell a good story. Her little face and hands become very animated and her stories are punctuated with many “and den” or “ummm, den”, with a few little lip smacks thrown in for effect.

And then there is “Thumbelina.” This student is tiny and an absolute sweetheart.  This child now wants my undivided attention. All.of.the.time. It is hard to be annoyed when someone is so sweet about it, especially when I’ve worked all year to help Thumbelina out of her protective shell. Hmmm… The changes I see are amazing.

Those changes signal the end of another school year, and I’m going to savor all the time I have left with these children!

Mrs. V

P.S.  Thanks for missing me!

6 Responses to “Playing Hide and Seek”

  1. RC May 2, 2009 at 10:01 pm #

    I owe you a phone call, I believe… And don’t worry about hiding – it happens to all of us.

  2. Julie May 4, 2009 at 12:14 pm #

    Your students sound sooooo cute, and it sounds to me like they have a wonderful teacher!

  3. caren May 4, 2009 at 2:55 pm #

    That’s the way I feel about my kids in dance class. You have worked so hard and they finally get it! They each have such distinct personalities.

    I am having a few giveaways on my blog – stop on by!

  4. Daisy May 4, 2009 at 8:25 pm #

    Someone asked you if you killed dinosaurs?!!!

    Oh, I just about spit out my drink with that one!

    Nice to have you back Mrs. V.

  5. Mr Geek May 5, 2009 at 3:48 am #

    Letting go of the little ones that you have spent the last year with must be so hard, that is one part of your job that I don’t envy… You have my utmost respect.

  6. starlaschat May 16, 2009 at 10:17 am #

    That was a wonderful Post sound like you are a great teacher! My husband starts school Monday to become a teacher. He will be teaching Art and Science.

Leave a Reply

