Switching Gears

26 May

switching-gears[1]

Summer break is finally here.  At least it is for me.  The school year wrapped up rather quickly, and I actually feel a little out of sorts.  I still have a couple of IEP meetings to attend, a staff party to enjoy, thank you notes to write and millions of sheets of paper to sort through.  So there are still some teacher duties that will need my attention for a little while.  However my summer list is screaming for my attention too.

Summer break brings a change in my routine and day to day duties.  It often leaves me spinning around in circles for a week or two.  I don’t know where or when to start, or which list of duties/chores/goals to start on.  I am highly disorganized in the summer months.

I like the routine of teaching, for the most part.  I don’t like the 5 a.m. wake up call, but everything else gives a sense of order to my life from late August to late May.  I know what is expected of me, and when it is expected of me.  I have specific goals to meet and a timeline to follow.

Now I am switching gears.  I have goals, but my summer timeline takes on a life of its own, and that is where I get into trouble.  I’ll blink and suddenly summer will be gone and the new school year will be starting.

I guess my main goal for the summer is to stick to a routine and check off the many things on my many lists, so when the school year returns I won’t be left wondering where my summer went. 

I want my summer to be more than a blur of sunscreen, ice cream and sleeping in.  Although, now that I’ve typed that, those things don’t sound too bad to me.

Happy Summer!

Mrs. V

7 Responses to “Switching Gears”

  1. Mr Geek May 27, 2009 at 8:56 am #

    Yeiks!

    Mrs Geek gets all “Must make the most out of the Summer” too. Thou shalt enjoy thy summer or suffer unconscionable consequences! 🙂

    Have fun …. and good luck with the tick-boxes 🙂

  2. Julie May 27, 2009 at 9:10 am #

    Enjoy your summer vacation!!! … I can’t believe that we’ve already used up a month of ours! *yikes*

  3. Just a Mom May 27, 2009 at 9:26 am #

    “I want my summer to be more than a blur of sunscreen, ice cream and sleeping in. Although, now that I’ve typed that, those things don’t sound too bad to me.”

    I think you should just set the above as your summer goal, that you you can make sure that it is met! 🙂

  4. RC May 27, 2009 at 10:11 am #

    Summer vacation? What’s that? 😉 (Love, your sister who is not a teacher and has a busier workload in the summer)

  5. joanharvest May 27, 2009 at 2:57 pm #

    I’m liking the sunscreen, ice cream and sleeping in. That’s what I do all summer. Well maybe mot this summer. I don’t want baby to get a sunburn.

  6. jen May 28, 2009 at 9:08 pm #

    Yeah, it gives a sense of direction to your day/week/year. LOL But enjoy your summer!

  7. N Peery June 2, 2009 at 4:57 pm #

    I just read exactly how I feel! I’m on my second day of summer vacation and already concerned that I may have squandered more time than I should have on raking that corner of deciding what to plant in that flower bed. And I love the graphic! Thanks for the post.

Leave a Reply

