Annoyed

28 May

This sign should be parked in front of my child’s school.

So why am I annoyed?  My phone calls to people I need to speak to have not been returned, and my email has been ignored.  Am I that hard to track down?  Are people scared of me?  Are they hoping that if they ignore me, I will eventually stop bothering them?  Are they hoping that by not talking to me the problem will just go away?

As each day passes my frustration grows, and I find that I am running out of patience.  For the record, this issue has been going on for over a month now, so I feel I have been more than patient. 

I understand that the school has 1100 students.  (Don’t get me started on that number.)  I know our problems may seem small and petty to those who run the school.  However, the school did promise at orientation that they would take care of my child, and my child is safe in their environment.  I’m seriously beginning to doubt this statement.  If I can’t get the school to pay attention to a small problem, how can I have confidence that they can handle a huge problem?

I’m torn.  The momma bear in me is just roaring with anger, but the teacher in me is trying to stay calm.  I’m trying to remember that schools are very busy places, especially schools with 1100 adolescents/teens within those 4 walls.  I just can’t figure out why communicating with me is so difficult. 

As an educator, I know how hard it is to return phone calls and emails.  Yet, I try my best to take care of those things as quickly as possible.  If I don’t know the answer I promise to find it for the parents, and I get back to them in a timely manner.  I also will apologize if I miss or forget something or someone and I try to rectify the situation as soon as possible.  Is it too much for me to expect the same from my child’s educators and administration?

I realize my son is just one of 1100 students.  I get that.  However, this is my child.  I had given my trust to this school to take care of him, and they are expecting me to trust them to take care of my daughter too.  I don’t think I can trust this environment right now.

Can you understand why I am so annoyed?  (and frustrated, angry, worried, scared, defeated…)

Mrs. V 

They’ve put boogers in my cereal, haven’t they?

10 Responses to “Annoyed”

  1. Just a Mom May 29, 2009 at 9:43 am #

    I know exactly how you feel. I have been there, done that, as a parent. When my phone calls are not returned or e-mails responded to I do what the school fears most: I park my butt in the school office until I talk to somebody!
    I hope your problem gets fixed.

  2. Julie May 29, 2009 at 12:33 pm #

    I think I would be annoyed too! … I would start leaving messages every half hour or so. *lol*

  3. teach5 May 29, 2009 at 6:13 pm #

    When I don’t get responses, I start cc’ing the messages one step up, referencing that it’s not the first time I have emailed, etc. on the problem.

  4. teach5 May 29, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

    OK, what I want to know is, what is the thing that the road sign is preparing people for?

  5. Caroline May 29, 2009 at 7:27 pm #

    I’ve done the same thing as teach5. We had a similar issue at my daughter’s very small (in comparison at least). Both my husband and I called and emailed and then we started emailing the principal with the administer cc’ed. Eventually the second email was returned with a response. It is very frustrating. I hope you finally get a response soon!! 🙂

  6. Talula May 30, 2009 at 2:07 pm #

    UH! Mrs. V. You’re in you ‘Parent’ mode now right? – with un-scheduled time to ‘plant your butt,er body’ in their face — just like the previous poster suggested. it is only a few days left of ‘big school’ scheduled – So Go For It! Of course, like the great educator/parent you are; you will have copies of all relelvant data (and un-answered emails/messages list) pertaining to the issue. They work for you (and your child) remember! Show up and EXPECT TO BE HEARD BY THE OFFICIAL IN CHARGE OF THE DATA/ISSUE YOU NEED TO DISCUSS! (or THEIR SUPERVISOR – be sure to go armed with a list of names and job responsibliites to go up the ladder until your issue is resolved to your satisfaction). it is administration’s job to put out fires all day long; as they come up. SO BE THE FIRE!
    Trust me — I have had to go to public school as a parent/dragon breathing fire at least once in each child’s history with our school district. didn’t do it a lot – but they learned to respect that I wasn’t a whiny always there parent – but would appear when it was necessary when a big problem arose. Good Luck!

  7. RC May 30, 2009 at 9:32 pm #

    Let me at ’em! Let me at ’em!

    (Have your son hack into their computers. Trust em, that will get their attention.) 😉

  8. Daisy June 1, 2009 at 7:43 pm #

    I’m on the school council and I know the Principal and Vice Principal quite well and vice versa. They would not ignore my calls/emails/phone calls because I suppose they know better. I’ve helped them out enough times and been supportive with their wants and needs and they’ve done the same with me and my son as well.

    It does happen to be a smaller school as well, so I am sure that helps too.

    If I did happen to run into some problems, I would likely ask my friends who are teachers in the same board on the best approach to get some results as well.

    Daisy

  9. Mr Geek June 2, 2009 at 5:37 am #

    I feel your frustration. I would probably add myself to the camp that say show up. It is far harder to dismiss/forget you when you are sat in their reception area.

    Having said that, with our son despite many of the supposed advantages illustrated above (on the PTA, active participation in school events etc) we ended up taking what we thought to be the only remaining option, which was to vote with our feet and we took him out of that school.

    Here’s to hoping you have a less drastic conclusion to your difficulties.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Closure « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - June 7, 2009

    […] We will have closure with the issues at the middle school, before Tuesday, June 9th.  They’ve already given my son closure, and that’s the most […]

Leave a Reply

