Slowly chewing…

25 Aug

Chipmunk cheeks[1]

A change is about to occur in my life.  Actually, I’d have to say that a big change is about to occur in my life.

Those who know me, also know that it takes time for me to adjust to change.

Next week my 2009-2010 preschool year begins. I’m very excited and cannot wait to get back in the classroom.

Next week I will also start my part time job at the local public library as a book shelver. I will be working there on my non-teaching days, and occasional weekends.

Next week I will be officially working 40 hours a week, outside the home, for the first time in almost 13 years.

Next week will bring about a really big change for myself and for my family.

Why am I doing this?

My preschool job, which I love, is only part time.  My children are now 11 and 13, and even though they no longer need child care, they do need braces, glasses, shoes, instruments, and other teenage-sized expenses.   My son will be going to college in 5 short years and my daughter will be headed that same direction in 7 years.  It is becoming a matter of economics.

This additional job I’ve chosen is a quiet job, that requires no planning or work outside of the hours I am at the library.  It holds the promise of being low on the stress scale.   These are employment qualities that appeal to me, and will leave me with the energy I need and want to devote to my preschool students.

Yes this is definitely a big change.

Will this change my life?  I’m certain it will. 

Am I ready for it? I think so.

Is my family ready for it? I think so, and I really hope so.

And I seriously hope I haven’t bitten off more than I can chew. So I plan to chew slowly.

Very slowly.

Mrs. V

6 Responses to “Slowly chewing…”

  1. Mr Geek August 26, 2009 at 5:23 am #

    I hope you will be happy in your new system.

  2. RC August 26, 2009 at 5:49 am #

    Just don’t choke. As maternity was the only big break I have had from the 40+ hour work week, I know no other way, but it is still exhausting.

  3. RC August 26, 2009 at 5:49 am #

    And that should have said maternity leave…

  4. ChiTown Girl August 26, 2009 at 5:06 pm #

    I didn’t realize that you only taught part-time. This IS going to be an adjustment, isn’t it? I wish I had some words of wisdom, but since I’ve been working 3 jobs for quite some time now, I can’t even relate. 😦 I hope the transition goes smoothly.

  5. Julie August 29, 2009 at 12:31 pm #

    It would be an adjustment to be working full time again… I haven’t worked outside the home in almost 12 years, so I know it would take me some time to adjust to the change!

    Julie
    http://scrapgrrl.com

  6. Angela Powell August 30, 2009 at 2:04 pm #

    I didn’t realize you taught part-time either…I guess so much happened in those part-time hours that it SEEMED like full time! 😉

    Can’t wait to read about your new adventures… excited for you…

Leave a Reply

