Now I know

15 Sep

stopsign

It’s a new school year, and I’m trying to get to know all the new faces and personalities.  Some students are more verbal than others, and provide more insight to who they really are.

I have an example for you.

I was reprimanding a child who wasn’t following the end of day safety rules, and this child’s response was “Stop talking to me!  I’m visual.”   This was said as a little hand came up to my face in the “talk to the hand” position.  What?!?  Did I hear this right?  Did this child just tell me “I’m visual”?

I think someone is paying very close attention to parental conversations.

My response?   “I’ll stop talking when you follow the rules.”

Mrs. V

Maybe I need to start carrying a stop sign in my back pocket for the visual people in my life.

12 Responses to “Now I know”

  1. RC September 15, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    Sounds like my son. Is he sneaking up to visit you in your classroom?

  2. Just a Mom September 16, 2009 at 9:24 am #

    Ha ha ha! This is just too funny! Don’t you just love little kids?!

  3. Jill September 16, 2009 at 11:00 am #

    Great response!

  4. Julie September 16, 2009 at 11:53 am #

    OMGoodness! I would have had SUCH a hard time not laughing! *lol*

    http://scrapgrrl.com

  5. Talula September 17, 2009 at 12:25 pm #

    This is a new one for the books! funny thing is …I have a laminated sign I used to use in the classroom that has the ‘no crossing’ graphic from the electronic crosswalk signs. It has a stop sign & a person walking…I always had it handy during transitions for the oft repeated “Stop” “use your Walking feet!” to show visual learners. yep! your little pictchers sure have big ears at home! Talula

  6. joanharvest September 17, 2009 at 10:37 pm #

    That is so funny. Ypu must hear hilarious stuff every day. Kids really do say the darndest things.

  7. jen September 20, 2009 at 9:13 pm #

    Oh my hell. Well, her parents must have drawn her a picture on it then. I have a visual-spatial learner here at home and he sure as heck doesn’t know what that’s all about! Oh…and he has better manners than that too. Good grief.

  8. michaelm September 22, 2009 at 7:57 pm #

    Time for a smackdown!
    Where do these kids learn this stuff is what I want to know.
    The home?
    God, that’s just plain scary.
    ~m

  9. michelle October 5, 2009 at 8:41 pm #

    I think you must be missing your Bumble. In fact, I think you sent him to me in Florida. I swear your Bumble is now residing in my room. 🙂 Have fun with your new ones!

  10. Daisy October 13, 2009 at 7:38 am #

    I love this! I wonder what crazy phrases my son would have overheard the parental figures using. Ha ha ha.

  11. Tracy December 11, 2009 at 9:25 pm #

    Oh, my God! That was definitely MY SON! And I have no idea where he learned that as we never say that! I do know that he mixes up a lot of what he hears on TV, etc. The other day I told him I had a social studies project for him: I drew the US flag and UK flag (his best friend is from England) and told him to color them. Now he uses the words “social studies” all the time and always out of context. It’s his new thing… he’s always making up words, hearing words and using them out of context. The hand up to say stop is ANNOYING! He gets time-out for it at home.

  12. Allyson December 31, 2009 at 10:23 pm #

    Just found your blog and absolutely LOVE it! I taught preschool for about 12 years and reading all this makes me homesick for the classroom. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

