Blessed Are Those…

6 Oct

Cover Your Sneeze

… Who sneeze into their elbows.  Their teachers will love them forever.

I have definitive evidence as to why sneezes need to be covered.

Last week Wednesday I was the recipient of a full blown uncovered sneeze by a child with an obvious cold.  Gross, ewwww, blech… **shudder**

This child also sneezed on about half of the children in the classroom periodically during our class time together. 

Student: “Sneezy sneezed on me!”

Teacher: “I know, I’m sorry.”  What else could I say?

No matter how many times I asked “Sneezy” to sneeze into his/her elbow, the sneezes continued to blow through our classroom.  This child would look right at me after the sneezes and just shrug.   Of course, these weren’t little sneezes; these were full force, spit flying, snot-bearing sneezes, and not a single one was covered.  Sneezy just did not seem to get it.

Guess who now has a cold?

Me. 

Several of Sneezy’s classmates have the cold now too.

Lovely.

Please cover your sneeze.  Please.

**sniffle**

Mrs. V

P. S.  My sister is having a contest!  Stop on over and check it out.

6 Responses to “Blessed Are Those…”

  1. michaelm October 6, 2009 at 7:54 pm #

    I pray to God you’ve gotten a flu shot . . .
    Sheesh . . . snot flying?
    Sounds green . . .
    Take care.
    If only I could I’d send you some of ‘Dad’s Chicken Noodle Soup’ . . .
    Drink lot’s of water & tea!
    ~m

  2. RC October 6, 2009 at 9:38 pm #

    And there is another contest entry for you!

    Did I maybe share the bit of a cold I have with you? And my little guy just was getting over one.

    If we did, I’m so sorry!

    And happy birthday tomorrow!

  3. Julie October 8, 2009 at 9:49 am #

    I always use my elbow over my hand… I got into that habit when I was working for Burger King. *lol*

    Hope you feel better soon!

  4. kiri8 October 26, 2009 at 6:42 am #

    Yuck!! I’m sorry to hear it. So far this class has been good about coughing into their elbows — no sneezing, yet.

  5. rsting December 24, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I’m sorry for your sickness but I found this hilarious! I observe in preschool classrooms doing ECERS assessments. I’m not sure this will help you but you’re not alone! I see this every day. The story I like the best is when a child told me “My daddy sneezed so hard last night that his buggers hit my shoes!” I never thought my professional life would include watching bugger picking and checking to see if they wash their hands! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oh, Hello November… « Don’t put boogers in your neighbor’s cereal… - November 3, 2009

    […] that full-on sneeze I was a recipient of?  It brought H1N1 into my house.  The H1N1 gave my otherwise very healthy 11 […]

Leave a Reply

