At a crossroads

3 Jan

What can I say?

I could bore you with the ugly details with how the last 2.5 months of 2009 pushed me to my limits physically, emotionally and mentally, but I won’t do that.  I can honestly say that my winter break could not come soon enough.  It gave me the time I needed just to breathe and relax.

So my blog has been sitting here in cyber space completely neglected since, well, November, I guess.  I confess that I didn’t do much blog reading either.  I really did miss those simple pleasures, but my energies were elsewhere. 

I’m at a crossroads.  Do I keep my blog?  If I keep my blog do I continue to write about teaching?  A (big) part of me worries that I don’t (or won’t) have anything remotely funny to write about.  I don’t think I’ve lost my sense of humor, but I think (and hope) that it has just been hibernating since October.

Goodness knows I’ll need that sense of humor when I return to the classroom tomorrow morning with my students who have not been at school for 16 days.  

And just to prove that I haven’t lost my ability to add  a dash more crazy to existing craziness, we will also have show and tell tomorrow. 

I really do prefer the controlled chaos that I create, instead of the out of control chaos that I experienced at the end of 2009. 

So I’m ringing in 2010 with great enthusiasm and hope.

Once I feel confident with where I’m going, I’ll feel confident in where this blog is or is not going.

Happy New Year!

Mrs. V

17 Responses to “At a crossroads”

  1. michaelm January 3, 2010 at 8:10 pm #

    Oh, Mrs V . . .
    Don’t you get it?
    You don’t have to be funny.
    Just be you.
    The reason I visit here is not for your humor (although you are more often than not, funny) but for your insight into the world of the children that you teach.
    You have so much to say and to be honest, this post surprises me.
    Please don’t disappear, okay?
    Keep the faith.

    Michael

    • mrsvierkant January 23, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

      Thank you Michael. I’ve taken your words to heart. I’m working hard not to disappear. I promise.

  2. michaelm January 3, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    btw- I love, love, love the picture on your header!
    Wonderful stuff, just wonderful.
    ~m

  3. The Science Goddess January 3, 2010 at 8:44 pm #

    I have missed your voice the last several weeks, but after 5 years of blogging, I understand that there are many crossroads along the way. With blogging, one rarely knows if the mind is out for a stroll…or running a full-fledged marathon.

    My advice? (Not that you asked for it…) If you enjoy writing and sharing here, then do so when the mood hits you. Don’t beat yourself up for neglecting the space or think that you must post on a “regular” basis. Sharing (as your little ones will do tomorrow) should be pleasurable—not a chore. If posting here feels like one. more. thing., then don’t do it. Blogs aren’t going away. You can always pick back up or start fresh whenever you like. Your readers will be here, too.

    • mrsvierkant January 23, 2010 at 3:36 pm #

      Thank you for your supportive and honest words!

  4. ChiTown Girl January 3, 2010 at 9:22 pm #

    I completely agree with the first two comments. All I as going to write is – blogging is cheaper than therapy!! No one is expecting you to be funny all the time. Trust me, I know our job is not always funny! Sometimes it’s irritating, stress-inducing, exhausting, infuriating and/or heartbreaking. Just write about what you want to write about. Write when you want to write. And if that means you only post once a month, so be it! We’ll still be here 🙂

  5. RC January 3, 2010 at 9:24 pm #

    Same crossroads as you. Want to write, but feeling stale and rundown. Want to share parenthood stories, but don’t want to humiliate the little guy later.

    Have a good week back and talk to you later! Love you!

  6. Michelle January 3, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Selfishly, I would love it if you decided to continue writing, but as a blogger who took a break myself, I completely understand what you’re saying. Sometimes I think I must sound like Charlie Brown’s Teacher….whont, whont, whont……

    I have always enjoyed your refreshing honesty, funny or not funny. You have reminded me about the innocence of youth and your daily observations have been of great benefit as well.

    That said, you must do what you feel in your heart is right for YOU. The wonderful thing about making a decision is that you can always make another one!

    Good luck on your first day back with the munchkins!

  7. Julie January 3, 2010 at 10:45 pm #

    We’ll be here if you decide to stay, and understand if you decide not too. 🙂

    The crossroads picture reminds me of the end of that Tom Hanks movie “Castaway”. (Never did like the ending of that movie. *lol*)

  8. Daisy January 3, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Oh boy.. everyone before me hit it on the nail… I’ve got nothing to add except that I am happy when you write, and understand when you don’t.

    That won’t stop me from saying that I miss you every so often though.

    Do what you’re comfortable doing and write when it tickles your fancy – not because you think you should.

    Daisy

  9. kiri8 January 4, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    I’ve missed you, although I do have facebook to help me keep in touch. I’ll be here to read your blog when you post, however often that might be.

    Are things better now? I know that December was pretty awful for you.

  10. Just a Mom January 4, 2010 at 9:14 am #

    I feel your pain! I agree that blogging should not be a chore, it should be something you want to do.
    Good luck on your crossroads!

  11. Jen January 10, 2010 at 3:59 pm #

    I just hope that things calm down for you! I’ve been getting the sense around the internets that 2010 is just as batsnot crazy as 2009, and that makes me sad. Seems everyone is having a hard time, myself included. You just need to do what works best for you!

  12. anonymum January 22, 2010 at 4:40 am #

    I’ve been lurking here for some time, but thought the time had come to delurk when I read this.
    The blogosphere has a lot in it these days.
    Deserted blogs, blogs full of utter garbage, and then others that make me almost want to go out and drown myself with their doom and gloom.
    It’s blogs like yours that need to stay because they’re not only well written, they’re entertaining and amusing as well.
    I do understand 100% about the emotional, mental and physical exhaustion because I’ve been there quite a few times myself.
    I’ve also been on the roller coaster ride that is called making a decision about what to do with a blog during that time, so I do know where your head is.
    Your blog is one place you can always guarantee the controlled chaos you seek, so there’s a plus before you start.
    Having said all that, at the end of the day you need to do what’s best for you, not your readers.
    I’ll close by saying I would prefer you stay, as would many others it seems.
    I’ll wait and see what happens be it good or otherwise.
    Whatever you decide, be well, be happy and don’t let them get you down
    Cheers
    Maureen

    • mrsvierkant January 23, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

      Thank you Maureen. Your comments mean so much to me. It is uplifting to read such positive thoughts, and I appreciate the time you took to comment.

  13. Mr Geek January 22, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    I am the last person to listen to as it has been ages since I last wrote. Sometimes life just does not give you these opportunities. I felt really bad about not writing more, but then I realised that I am writing for me. The community that grows around it is a nice side benefit, but they are not harmed by my absence.

    I miss it, but feeling guilty is just punishing myself twice. Personally I have decided that it is pointless trying to construct anything meaningful in the limited time available and that I would be better off waiting until I had time to enjoy it again (some day soon hopefully, but I’m not holding my breath). For now I will have to make do with Twitter 🙂

    I hope this term is less stressful and the muse hits you once again.

  14. mrsvierkant January 23, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    I want to thank everyone for their honest, kind and supportive comments. It has warmed my heart. 🙂

Leave a Reply

