Small steps

14 Feb

The small steps of progress by the children in my classroom often bring me the greatest joy.  

~The child who has written the last letter of his/her name backward suddenly has it going the right direction.

~The child who cannot write his/her name, starts writing the first letter of that name on each piece of artwork.

~The child who asks me how to draw a person, and then draws his/her own person for the very first time.

~The child who has learned to zip his/her coat and chooses to share his/her enthusiasm with us.

~The children painting with letter shaped cookie cutters purposefully turning the cookie cutters so that the letters face the correct direction.

~The children who have avoided the art and writing tables because of fine motor difficulties are beginning to try the activities.

~The child who shows me that he/she knows how to read and/or write a few words that we’ve talked about in class.

~The child who comforts a classmate who is sad or hurt.

~The child who shares because he/she wants to, not because he/she was told to.

~The child who finishes the floor jigsaw puzzle by his/herself.

~The child who self-corrects and tries again while completing an activity, using a skill learned in class.

~The children who weren’t ready to talk to me are beginning to share a thought or two, a smile, and a small connection.

~The child who makes a gift for someone because he/she knows it will make that someone smile.

We are halfway through our preschool year and their small steps will walk us through the rest of our days together, when they’ll take the huge leap into kindergarten.  With each group of children I teach, I am always amazed by how much they learn and grow during the year they are at our preschool.

I “don’t sweat the small stuff.”  I rejoice in it.

Mrs. V

7 Responses to “Small steps”

  1. Kimberly Hosey (Arizona Writer) February 14, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    This is beautiful. It’s all about the little stuff, isn’t it?

  2. Julie February 16, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    If my kids ever attend public school, I hope their teachers are just like you! 🙂

  3. ~m February 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    I can’t help but think that you are the ultimate reason these children have ‘arrived’.
    As a teacher, you deserve these little gifts as a way to let you know you are doing right.
    I’ve said this as long as I’ve visited and will say it again: you have a gift for this.
    These children (and their parents, for that matter) are more lucky than they realize.
    You care. You love. You teach.
    Gobsmacked.
    God Bless you, MrsV
    You Rock!
    ~m

    ps. I *Stumbled this post because I liked it so much. HEre’s to some traffic for you.

    • mrsvierkant February 18, 2010 at 10:04 pm #

      Well, I have to say a BIG THANK YOU ~m for stumbling my post. 😀 The uptick in the stats gives one quite the ego boost. Thanks for making my evening and for liking my post.

  4. kiri8 February 18, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    Beautifully put. Thank you!

  5. Little old me February 20, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I haven’t been around for a while, hope you are feeling a little happier now

  6. Michelle February 20, 2010 at 8:53 pm #

    As a childcare provider I get the privledge of watching “my” kids grow from infants to kindergartners. I am Blessed to be witness to the small stuff, which if your not watching you can miss!! What a great gift you give to your kids!!

Leave a Reply

